Oceanlab, On a Good Day

Clean: 4

Quality: 3.5

Genre: Trance

Trance is a subcategory of electronic/dance music that has a relatively fast tempo but also sometimes a slow melancholy melody over the top of the fast beat. Trance music is repetitive and “the effect of some trance music has been likened to the trance-inducing music created by ancient shamanists during long periods of drumming.” (Wikipedia). I would classify the group, Oceanlab, as dream-trance: Trance music that is almost new age sounding. There is a calming effect even though there is a dance beat in the background. This particular song is good standard trance. The music, the lyrics and the mellow vocals of Justine Suissa all meld together wonderfully. Vocal trance is probably my favorite type of music so I liked this song the first time I heard it.

The song, On a Good Day, is melancholy, thoughtful and hopeful. The words are about working through some issue and moving on to live the rest of life. The funk is beginning to leave but isn’t gone yet. The words express some slight regret and sadness but also optimism for the future.

Lyrics and song below:

A little bit lost

A little bit lonely

A little bit cold here

A little bit of fear


But I hold on and I feel strong and I know that I can

Getting used to it

Lit the fuse to it

Like to know who I am

(Chorus)

Been talking to myself forever, yeah

And how I wish I knew me better, yeah

Still sitting on the shelf but never, never seen the sun shine brighter

and It feels like me on a good day (repeat)


I’m a little bit hemmed in

A little bit isolated

A little bit hopeful

A little bit calm

But I hold on and I feel strong and I know that I can

Getting used to it

Lit the fuse to it

Like to know who I am

Leave a Reply

