Best of 2008

I’ve kind of taken a break from the blog for the past month. I like listening to cheesy Christmas music which doesn’t necessarily warrant reviews. This year I enjoyed two new Christmas albums (new to me, they were both 2007 releases): Jars of Clay’s Christmas Songs, and Mindy Smith’s My Holiday. All this to say, I don’t have any new reviews at the moment, and my music budget is spent for a few weeks…But I always like to do a year-end review. So here I have my favorite albums and songs of 2008:

Best albums of 2008:

1. Son Lux, At War with Walls and Mazes

By far my favorite album of the year.

2. Lecrae, Rebel

Christian rap was introduced to me for the first time this year and it changed my perspective on music.

3. Kanye West, 808s and Heartbreaks

Despite the criticism West received for this album and even my own hesitations, it remains tops in my mind for its unconventional yet accessible attitude and sound.

4. Cold Play, Viva la Vida, or Death and all His Friends

5. Nothing stands out. I could put the Twilight soundtrack, or Fireflight’s Unbreakable, but while they are good…they just don’t stick out in my mind. I guess I only have a top 4.

Best Songs of 2008:

1. Black is the Color (DJQ’s Club Edit),  2Devine vs Cara Dillon

This might seem random to you unless you know me in real life. It is just a silly techno song remix but I loooove it and listened to it constantly since I found it. Black is the Color of my True Love’s Hair is an old Scottish folk song. Many singers have covered it and in this version, Cara Dillon, an Irish folk singer, does the honors. I don’t know if Cara and 2Devine made a deal or if 2Devine just took a copy and remixed it with beats. Either way it is an unlikely combination, folk singing and techno, but somehow it works and is beautiful.

2. Son Lux, Wither

3. Chris Brown, Forever

Again, this might seem like a surprise unless you know me in real life. I just love how innocent, dancy, poppy and romantic it sounds. 

4. Lecrae feat. Sho Baraka, Live Free

5. Blue Foundation, Eyes on Fire

On the Twilight soundtrack. Perfectly melancholy and chilling. (myspace)

Honorable Mention: Oceanlab, On a Good Day, Kanye West, Love Lockdown, and Lecrae, Rebel Intro

If I had unlimited money and time I would have gotten around to listening to/reviewing :

1. Girl Talk, Feed the Animals (myspace)

2. Apparat, Walls, (listen for free)

3. Thievery Corporation, Radio Retaliation (myspace)

Leave a Reply

