Other Best Of 2008 Lists

I’m a bit behind, but yesterday I finally perused Pitchfork‘s best of 2008 list. Going through the best albums list, at first I felt extremely out of it and old because I had only heard of a had full of the bands.  On the best song list, there are little snippets of some you can listen to on the website. After a few, I had had enough. I was thoroughly annoyed. Sheesh! I only liked a few of the songs and this was supposed to be their BEST of the year. Most of them sounded amateur, undeveloped, generic, and vocally poor. There were a few that I could appreciate/respect, but this was the exception.  I finally and reluctantly came to the conclusion, that Pitchfork can be pretentious. It felt like a relief. I read their reviews because they are known for their witty and sometimes sarcastic opinions plus the fact that they focus on indie or at least lesser known artists. But I can’t think of one artist that I have discovered and loved through Pitchfork. Also, some of the songs, names of artists, words in the reviews etc. can be unclean. This is not a website to send your five year old to check out.

Quality: 2

Clean: 2.5

This morning I decided to listen to NPR’s All Songs Considered year in review. They didn’t let me down. Listening to their radio show from December 8th via the internet, was a pleasure. There were four critics, endeeringly nerdy, funny, and unpretentious, who each shared their favorite new artists, biggest surprises, and favorite songs of the year. I wrote down several artists and songs to check into later. Because it was played on the radio, the show was clean. Son Lux was even featured as one of the best new artists of the year (29 minutes in), making me very excited and like a fellow music nerd.

Quality: 4.5

Clean: 4

Leave a Reply

